L’Œil d’or – Documentary Award Cannes 2016

“ Cinema, cinema, the subject is cinema.
Without challenge, there is no documentary.
Over the last ten days, we kept both of these statements in mind, as we watched the 18 documentaries across all sections of the festival that are in competition for L’Œil d’or – Cannes Documentary Award ”.
Gianfranco Rosi – President of the jury
Anne Aghion, Thierry Garrel , Amir Labaki et Natacha Régnier

Cinema Novo is a film manifesto about the relevance today of almost forgotten Brazilian film movement of the sixties cinema novo. It is a daring impressionistic essay of a new genre showing us that cinema today could be at once political and sensual, poetical and engaged, formal and narrative, fictional and non-fictional – an interpretation of a mundo novo – of a new world.

The jury also awarded an Honorable Mention to Shirley Abraham et Amit Madheshiya for The Cinema Travelers (India)

The film interweaves the trajectory of three protagonists – archetypal protagonists – in India today to tell the story of the end of an era in cinema. Without ever veering into sentimentality,

the filmmakers focus their promising, tender, and incisive lens on the shifting reality of our contemporary world.

Those two documentaries were selected in Cannes Classics and are part of the 18 films screened at Cannes Film Festival.

L’Œil d’Or, Cannes Documentary Award was created in 2015 by LaScam (The French civil society for multimedia authors), in collaboration with the Cannes Festival and its General Delegate Thierry Frémaux, with the support of the INA (the French national audiovisual Institute).