Agnieszka Holland began her film career working with Krzysztof Zanussi and Andrzej Wajda. Her first feature film, Provincial Actors (1978), won the International Critics Prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 1980. She directed Angry Harvest (1985) which was nominated for a foreign-language Oscar. Her film Europa Europa (1990) also received an Academy Award nomination (best screenplay) and ln Darkness (2011) was again nominated as best foreign-language film. She collaborated with her friend Krzysztof Kieslowski on the screenplay of his trilogy Three Colours (1993). Holland’s other films include To Kill a Priest (1988), Olivier, Olivier (1992), The Secret Garden (1993), Total Eclipse (1995), Washington Square (1997), The Third Miracle (1999), Copying Beethoven (2006), Spoor (2017), Mr. Jones (2019) and Charlatan (2020). She also directed several episodes of many notable TV series and written or co-written screenplays for films made by other directors. Honorary President of the Federation of European Screen Directors (FERA) since 2019, she was elected President of the European Film Academy (EFA) in 2021.